Adventuring in the Fairelands part 6 – The Great Greta

I entered Samsara, looking for a possible circus somewhere, but I saw nothing that even remotely resembled a tent. Time to ask random people then, I figured as I stopped an elder lady to ask her if she knew where the Great Greta might be found. She gave me an odd look and hurried away without a word. Ok, she probably didn’t know the answer, there’s no reason to worry, right? Next, I stopped a guy around my age and asked the same question. He, too, gave me an odd look and muttered something about lunatics while stepping away from me. I kept asking various people and every time I got a similar reaction. So, what in the nine was I missing?

Puzzled, I was contemplating in the middle of the entrance square, when a gaffer tapped my shoulder. I turned to give him an interrogative stare.
“Yer lookin’ fer Greta, aye?” He sized me up and down.
I nodded.
“Have ye got ‘em dead wish, lass?” He, too, gave me an odd look.
“Nope! But I need to find her to finish a quest.”
“She be somewhere near ‘em falls. If yer stoopid enough t’test yer luck.” He chuckled, turned away and left before his word sank in and I could ask what he meant by that. I guess there’s a reason to worry, after all.

Oh well, I needed my letter, so I began searching for the falls. It took me the better part of an hour to find the spot, which was breathtakingly beautiful, so I took a moment to just enjoy the scenery. I saw no one there, though. I cursed my luck, of course the gaffer had lied to me and now I’d have to walk back and start all over again. I turned to leave when I heard an odd sound. It was like multiple trees had fallen one after another. I turned back and where before had been a large rock, now stood a large creature, who was peering at me.

“Who dares to disturb my peace?” A booming voice filled the air.
Think, think think! You are in the Fairelands, everyone here has magic! I closed my eyes, lifted my arm towards the creature and began to gather my will to shoot a flaming ball from my palm.
“Pathetic lass! Do you think your magic can harm me, the Great Greta? I could just stomp on you and end your miserable existence.”
“Wait, wait!” I opened my eyes, letting my arm fall to my side, my tone sounding far more frightened than I’d have preferred. “Are you the Great Greta? I believe you have a letter for me?”
“Ah, he promised me a delicious snack would come my way.” Greta cackled, swished her tail, and wrapped it around me.
“Uh-oh.” Now, how to get out of this situation. I didn’t particularly enjoy the thought of becoming Greta’s snack. “I taste awful, you know? I ate garlic before coming here, lots of it!” I tried to weasel my way out, but my tone betrayed my fear.
She cackled again. “Mmmmmm, I do so love garlic-marinated snack!” She tightened the grip of her tail around me as if to emphasize her words. I gasped and closed my eyes, certain that I would meet my maker very soon, but then I felt the tail releasing its grasp.

“Open your eyes. I’m not going to eat you – not yet at least. If you can answer three of my riddles correctly, I’ll give you the letter and I might even let you go.” Greta spoke dryly, her tail swishing ominously back and forth.
Shyte, of course it had to be riddles! I effin’ hate riddles! I cursed in my mind before responding. “Go on then.”
“What can you break, even if you never pick it up or touch it?”
What can I break? My nose? No, I touch my nose frequently. A bone? I can’t touch my bones, can I? That’s gotta be it, or is it too easy? Thousands of thoughts were racing through my mind – again. I promise, I’ll break that son- Wait wait! That’s it! I beamed a victorious smile at Greta. “A promise! My answer is a promise.”

“Huh? Smarter than you look like.” She laughed. “The more you take, the more you leave behind. What am I?”
Breadcrumbs? Paper wrapped candies? Broken hearts? Think! I had no clue what this one could be, so I started pacing around. I paced and paced watching my footprints forming a small trail on the grass, when the answer dawned on me. “Footsteps! That’s my answer.” I sent a slight grin in Greta’s way, although not as victorious as the last one. I wasn’t at all certain if I had gotten it right.

“Hmmh. Definitely smarter than you look like.” she remarked. Let’s see if you can solve the last one. “There’s a one-story house in which everything is yellow. Yellow walls, yellow doors, yellow furniture. What color are the stairs?”
D’oh. Hello, Miss Obvious! Yellow, of course. Oh wait. That’s too easy, so this must be a trick question. “Can you repeat it, please?”
Greta grunted, but after a musing a moment, she repeated the riddle for me.
Everything’s yellow, so the stairs must be – Hold on, one-story house. She said one-story house! “There’s no stairs, it’s a one-story house!” I shouted out my answer.

Greta laughed. “Congratulations, lass. You’ve earned this.” She swished her tail a couple of times left and right in the shape of number eight and as result, a letter formed into my feet. “Now, go, before I change my mind about garlic-marinated snack!”
I grabbed the letter hastily and run as fast as I could. My desire to become a snack had not increased during the encounter.

Once I was so out of breath, I could not take one step more, I stopped, opened the letter and read it through.

Dear Ms Darkheart,

I must admit, now I am almost impressed. You did not get squished, eaten, or met your untimely demise. Your encounter with the lovely Greta provided me immense entertainment.

Your final quest: You will find the reward in a less travelled path in the Duskfall Court.

Remember, I am never far from you.

Yours truly,
The Devil You Will Soon Know

Finally! I can’t wait to tell this guy just how little I appreciate his sense of humour. I’m gonna tie him up, stuff him full of garlic and haul his arse to Samsara. A little gift for Greta from me! Next stop, the Duskfall Court!


Nim wears:

Fantasy Faire items:
:[P&E]:- :[P&E]:- Relyvara @ Samsara
[DB] Thyria Bracers @ Samsara
[DB] Fithril Arm Jewelry @ Samsara
PANIQ – Lunar Starlight Circlet @ the Duskfall Court
[UO] Dynamic Sparkle Wings – Blinkies @ Whispering Pages
[n.a.p] Leaves Embrace – Golden @ the Duskfall Court
Pose: UZME_Sourcerer03a @ Öndheim

*DK Avatar} ANKYLOSAURUS Blog Edition Avatar v1.9 @ Wistlyn Shallows

Other items:
[VOZ] Snake Whisper Earrings
– Secrets – Zareen Anklets – Gold
Stealthic – Fusion Hair