Adventuring in the Fairelands part 4 – The Burglary

I arrived at Hope’s Wish. The town was rather crowded with Faire-explorers, and I had no idea where to begin my search. At least I had to search for fruits instead of talking to people. I tried to comfort myself with that thought, while strolling around trying to see if there were any fruits around.

I found a couple of small stalls that sold fresh fruit, but since the town was full of people, there was no way for me to lockpick the boxes without being seen. So, I decided to wait for nightfall, when people were either sleeping or gathering in the various Faire events. I made good use of my waiting-time visiting the stores at Hope’s Wish.

Finally, the streets began to quieten, and people withdrew to their homes or parties. The time for my burglary had come. I glanced around, hoping there would be no pawlice around tonight. I tried to keep to the shadows, as I tiptoed to the first stall only to find the box unlocked and empty. I cursed quietly, scanned the area for people and when there was no one in sight, I made my way to the next one, and the next one, and the next one, only to find them all unlocked and empty. What the heck! The wretched devil’s playing tricks with me. I started to become furious, as the night was quickly waning, and I still hadn’t found the effin’ letter.

Uh-huh! I grinned as I spotted one more stall. I quickly sneaked there, half-expecting to face disappointment anew, but this box was locked! I glanced around and began to pick the lock, which took me less time than I had anticipated and then I saw the letter. I grabbed it, pocketed it and just when I was about to rise, I heard a stern voice behind me. “Ahem, miss? What on earth are you doing? Not breaking into a poor merchant’s coffer, I hope?”
Shyte! I cursed quietly, turning my head towards the voice. No-no-no-no, of course it had to be the pawlice. How in the nine would I explain my way out of this? “Uhh. Would you believe me if I told you, it was open, and I was merely closing it?” I gave her a lopsided, rather an uncertain smile.
“I’ve been watching you for a while, you know? Were you closing all the other coffers as well?” She smirked, taking a step closer to me.
“Well, yes, as a matter of fact I was doing just that!” I tried to push my luck, but it wasn’t on my side.
“Hmm, I’m not buying it. Try again?” The pawlice didn’t budge.

Should I tell her the truth? Should I continue lying? Should I just try to run, even if she’s got a nasty dragon on her shoulder? Thousands of thoughts raced through my mind.
“Well? I’m waiting…” The pawlice said, peering at me intensively.
I let out a soft sigh, my shoulders sagging a little. “I was trying to get this letter. It’s addressed to me.” I picked the letter from my pocket and showed it to her from a safe distance.
“Let’s see the letter, then.” She reached over to try to take it from me, but I couldn’t let that happen! No pawlice, the devil had said. So, at that point I quickly got to my feet and ran.
“Hey! Get back here, thief! I’ll put you in jail as soon as I catch you and trust me, I -will- catch you!” She yelled, sprinting after me, the little dragon growling menacingly.

Despite her small stature, she was slowly but surely gaining on me. I had to think of something fast or I’d spend the rest of my Faire in jail. Wings, you idiot! You got wings! The thought dawned on me, so I jumped into a fence to put at least a little distance between me and the ground. I tried to balance along the fence for a while and then I leapt into the air. For once luck was on my side because the wings carried me higher up into the sky, away from the officer’s grasp. I found it a little odd that she didn’t send the dragon after me, though, but at least I got away.

Back at my store, I ripped open the letter and read it.

Dear Ms Darkheart,

I am surprised to see you have gotten this far. I do enjoy watching your futile attempts to find the letter. As a bonus, it is always highly amusing to see the pawlice chasing you.

Your fourth quest: Your letter is hidden amongst the pages at the Whispering Pages. You may need some bzzzing aid.

I do hope your next task will be just as amusing to watch. I will be keeping an eye on you.

Yours truly,
The Devil You Don’t Know

That sonnuva wench! I feel like he’s one step ahead of me all the time. How did he know I would find the right box last? How did he know the pawlice would be there? And what in the nine is bzzzing aid? I’ll go through every page there is at the Whispering Pages if I must, it can’t be that many anyway, but I’m gonna see through this.


Huge thank you for Linn Darkwatch for taking the time to pose for me as the pawlice! ♥


Nim wears:

Fantasy Faire items:
:[P&E]:- Arthami Bodysuit @ Samsara
*Lurve* Thief of Hearts Outfit Boots @ Hope’s Wish
:[P]:- Ariah Ears [EVOX-F] @ Samsara
[+Oblivis+] Ghostfire Lantern Blue&Silver LH @ Thunnus Bay
LE Natural Wings Azur @ Samsara
[QE] Leviathan Female Claws – Magick @ Last Stop
[AURO] : Lunar Moth Tattoos White @ Plankbarrow Harbor
Arttoo’s Fantasy Blue EVOX @ Flamenca
Astalianda – Moon Magic 2M @ Avalon

Other items:
TRUTH / Valiant