Adventuring in the Fairelands part 3 – The Interview

I entered Flamenca, where tall pink buildings welcome a visitor to explore the city. I had to find Mrs. Mason, though. I was just about to ask a nearby person, when I spotted a sign which said Mason News. Could it be this easy? Oh well, in I went, maybe they knew how to find her.

I glanced around in an office furnished with three large desks, all filled with stacks of paper, typewriter, and various pencils. I was scanning the room for people when I heard the door behind me creak and then a brisky voice exclaimed behind me. “Hello there! You must be the reporter, yes? Come on, I have the questions for you here somewhere.” An elderly lady beamed me a smile, while leading me towards the biggest desk. After searching for a while, she handed me a pile of papers, a big smile on her face. “Here you go! I’d like two interviews by noon. I need them for tomorrow’s paper.”
“Hold on, interviews?” I frowned confused.
“Ah, yes. The gentleman who recommended you said you’re a top-notch interviewer who is not afraid to approach strangers.” The lady continued to smile.
Approaching strangers?! Can the earth please swallow me right now! There’s nothing worse than talking to strangers! Who’s this guy? A gentleman doesn’t sound very devilish? Thousands of panicked thoughts filled my mind, but aloud I only managed to utter a tentative “Right”
“Off you go then!” The lady ushered me efficiently out of the door.

Shyte, shyte, shyte, shyte! I cursed quietly, trying to figure out the best way for a hermit like me to find two people to interview. I snuck a few wistful glances towards two passing pawlice officers. It would be so easy to just take the letters to them and be done with all this, if only I knew whether the devil’s threat was empty or not.

Finally, I just decided to overcome my fears and simply start asking if anyone would be willing to answer my questions. It took me a while, but then a beautiful lady, who was exploring the Fairelands, agreed to answer my questions. While I was shuffling my papers, a huge skeleton approached us. He turned out to be a guard who came to inquire about our business, and when he heard it was an interview, he expressed interest in answering.

“Would you both state your names?” I asked, offering a little nervous smile to my interviewees, one of them was rather imposing, after all.
“Luna Curlys-Amethyst (LunaRose Amethyst)”, the lady answered with a smile. She also didn’t seem intimidated in the slightest, even though the scary guard was right next to her!
“Cornelius Van Rittenvald the Third”, the skeleton responded.

“Do you come here every year?” I asked after having written their names down.
“YES! My first faire was back in 2021 and I’ve been coming back every year since then.” Luna replied with a bright smile.
“I have been here in countless forms since the beginning of the Faire.” Cornelius gave me a cryptic answer.

I jotted down their responses and moved on to the next question. “What do you love about the Faire?”

Luna contemplated for a moment before responding, her expression turning more sorrowful. “The people I meet, their creativity in how they dress their avatars, the builds of the various regions and of course that it is a Relay for Life Event. I have lost a few loved ones to cancer and well… I just hate cancer so that I can help raise linden for the American Cancer Society and enjoy that what I love the most (fantasy) at the same time, that’s a big win for me.

Oh, and the memorial candles. I have purchased one every single year since I started going to the Faire. Somehow that helps me in my grieving process and coping with the loss of the people that moved on. This is the inscription on the candle that I got this year for my dad: [02:06] Fantasy Faire 2024 ~ Memorial Candle: The inscription reads: Dad, you have fought so hard… I wish you were still here. Miss you so much. 24-02-1959 – 07-01-2024”

We all paused for a moment of respectful silence to let her words sink in.

Finally, Cornelius spoke. “Faire is -the- event for me. I love everything. The dedication of the organizers who work tirelessly to provide an enjoyable experience for us all. The creativity of the builders, who outdo themselves a year after a year by these incredible regions that give us so much to explore. The creativity of the designers who all come together for a great cause to fight cancer. The creativity of the bloggers and photographers who make us lasting memories we can always go back to. You can’t believe how many times I’ve been photographed already!” He gave a small chuckle, which sounded a little creepy coming from a skeleton. “Last, but not the least, the people. I enjoy seeing all kinds of avatars, big, small, human, non-human, first-timers, regulars coming together and enjoying the Faire together in peace and harmony.”

We fell into silence anew, which was only broken by the sound of my pen furiously scribbling down their responses.

“Time for my final question, have you shopped a lot?” I glanced at both my interviewees.
A faint sadness lingered in Luna’s face as she responded. “This year not so much unfortunately. Due to some changes in my life, I cannot use RL money to buy linden anymore, so what I earn in SL is what I got. Last year I went crazy and shopped so much. This year it’s less but hopefully next time I can do that again.” Her beautiful features curved into a hopeful smile after her response.
Cornelius gave a booming laugh. “I look rather dashing in this form, don’t I? So, I haven’t bought anything. I donated to the kiosks instead.”
“Thank you both so much for your answers.” I smiled at them both. “Your interviews will be in the Mason News tomorrow.”

It was almost noon, so I rushed back to Mason News office and handed my notes to Mrs. Mason. She looked at me surprised as if she hadn’t expected me to make it. “Thank you, miss. I believe you have earned this.” She handed me a letter. I grabbed it, nodded to her in farewell and dashed out to read the letter without prying eyes.

Dear Ms Darkheart,

You have still not given up, I see. I was certain this letter would have been far too difficult for you to get. You needed to interact with others, after all, and we both know that is not your strongest suit.

Your third quest: Your letter awaits in a locked box in Hope’s Wish. Look for fruits.

I have seen you give desperate looks towards the pawlice. Do not even think about it. Remember, I have matches.

Yours truly,
The Devil You Don’t Know

Gods, I hate this devil-whatever. He knows me so well, yet I’m still utterly clueless to who he might be. The baker and the town-crier are out of the equation. They wouldn’t bother going to such lengths to concoct such an elaborate plan just to get back at me. Oh well. Hope’s Wish awaits. Perhaps I’ll find some answers there.


(( Thank you so much Luna Curlys-Amethyst (LunaRose Amethyst) for answering my questions and taking the time to pose for the picture.

Nim wears:

Fantasy Faire Items:
Viki. – Maitreya – Mafalda @ Öndheim
[DB] Thyria Necklace & Tiara @ Samsara
Air_Olga halo_gold_CM @ Avalon

Other Items:
Stealthic – Lately