Meet Our World Builders: Lokii Violet

Lokii Violet, the creator and owner of .Arcadia. is also the world builder of Kakushi Pasu. She shares her experiences on building a Faireland and on roleplaying, talks about the story of Kakushi Pasu and her favourite parts of the Faire!

This is your second year building a Faireland. Is it any easier the second time around? Has the experience changed?

They say nothing you truly want to succeed is ever easy; I almost forgot this when I got the invitation again to build. Blackmoor last year kind of set the stage on what to expect, but this year was a personal challenge. I’m normally the spoopy and darker designs, so taking a step outside of that this year on a whim was the bigger challenge to build the Faireland. I think experience wise, it’s given me a larger perspective on form and function of a layout that’s not only aesthetically pleasing but something that isn’t always swaddled in the cobwebs and the things that go bump in the night.

Kakushi Pasu – picture by Alisaundra Andel

How was Kakushi Pasu born? What is its story?

Kakushi Pasu translates as the ‘Hidden Path’ – originally.. I wanted to add some elements of a darker nature nestled within it of a hidden market alley, the neon glow of lights and signs (like Bladerunner and Ghost in the Shell crashed together on a pirate cove), and admittedly inspirations came from a roleplay community I am part of of Convergence: The Lost City. One of our most recent plot arcs heavily involved situations regarding Tokyo and I wanted to build something that resonated with me, and being the Literary Festival sim set the platform for that. Though when I saw that big blank canvas, my mind changed to something that might ‘have been’ before the later influences and dark nature that took over the land mass.

So… the little isle cove was born. One part of shipwrecked dingys and fishermen boats, and where nature still aggressively claims what belongs to it of an isle shrouded in a thick bamboo grove. Writing is a release for so many, self included, and I wanted to have that sense of serenity that not only transcends the boundaries of written word, but a place to feel closer to what nature is. It’s raw, it fights back, like so many do against this disease.

Fantasy Faire 2017- Kakushi Pasu
Kakushi Pasu – picture by Alisaundra Andel

What are you bringing to the Faire this year?

Another challenge! Something a bit more brighter, and the growing obsession with ombres and baliage fades that are all over the place. I’m the old school Generation X kid and cartoon loving weirdo through the 80’s so seeing the trend kind of re-emerge was something quick to gravitate to in more whimsical-colored dresses for .Arcadia.

Kakushi Pasu – picture by Caitlin Tobias.

I know you are a roleplayer. Have you considered joining into any of the Faire-roleplays, or bringing your own group over one year? What kind of roleplay do you do?

I am a weirdo of many faces and alts in roleplay, this is true. I was an addict for the old tabletop RPGs with White Wolf’s WoD series for many years (the oWoD, I’m a purist that the old was better than the reboot.)

It’s crossed my mind a couple times on both sides, I think the latter.. Papa Z might actually go batty at the idea. Or tell me to sit down. Or who knows, he’s been in my time RP’ing in SL one of the most pleasant sim owners to work with on an RP staff team. Right now, my kind.. genre-wise is post-apoc and dystopian. It’s emerged in a mix of the elements of the real world but with that liberal dose of fantasy. I’m actively playing a vampire at this place (among some other mystery character types on the side), in the past I’ve staffed and played in other style formats from Medieval to Sci-Fi and Futuristic, but the sense of a real world catalyst and suddenly breaking that dimensional wall that you’re not the only species out there, or *are* that hidden one, there’s a small thrill to it and lends greatly to the overall roleplaying experience; where plot lines and character development go. Who you encounter (or how you act around them, do you hide? Do you admit what you are, do you string them along, etc.)

Fantasy Faire 2017 - Kakushi Pasu
Kakushi Pasu – picture by Wildstar Beaumont

What are you looking forward to most in the Faire this year?

Stealthing Alia when he isn’t paying attention. (Lookin’ at you, buddy, you got me in to all this.) Running around like a derp on DRD’s Faireland which I’ve already horribly fangirled about and excited to be next to this year. The fun is finding shops I know, and discovering new ones and seeing all these new worlds built from an idea. It’s the Dream that always keeps me coming back to this to see them come to life.

Thank you, Lokii, for taking the time to talk with us. Thank you for bringing us another Faireland!

Its Almost Here !!!
Kakushi Pasu – picture by Alisaundra Andel
4 thoughts on “Meet Our World Builders: Lokii Violet”

Leave a Reply

