Meet Our Sponsors: Titans & Solarium

Kilik Lekvoda, the creator and owner of Titans, the world builder and sponsor of The Hill.
Encaitaron Korobase, the creator and owner of Solarium, the sponsor of The Hill.

Kilik Lekvoda of Titans and Encaitaron Korobase of Solarium sponsor this year The Hill, the Faireland Kilik built as a homage to Tolkien’s The Shire. Encaitaron has also been our resident scripter for our Fairelands Quests for years, providing the Faire Folk with immersive HUDs to adventure with. They share their reasons to return to the Fairelands every spring, talk of their creative processes and reminisce about their favourite Faire-memories.

You joined forces in sponsoring this year, but you have both been involved with the Faire for many years. What makes you return year after year?

Kilik: Besides the obvious of being able to help raise money for a cause that’s close to mine and practically everyone’s heart… I love being given the opportunity to bring people joy with the worlds we create for the Fairelands.

Encait: We’re dumb as rocks and we don’t know how to say no.
Secretly, we’re also a bit narcissistic and having people depending on us for critical stuff, despite stressful, touches us in all the right places.

In all seriousness, even though the attention is nice, the message and goals of the Faire strongly resonate with us either directly or indirectly. More than being an event where we can meet new people, stores, and stories, it’s a positive way of fighting something so dark, while receiving your yearly dose of inspiration.

Encaitaron and Kilik in their more Faire-familiar forms as tookies!

Kilik, how was The Hill born? What inspired it, what is its story?

Kilik: The Hill was born through blood, sweat and tears and a few hobbit tantrums.. the mesh terrain over the stores was a pain to create but it all worked out nicely in the end I like to think. If it’s not clear enough The Hill was hugely inspired by The Shire from the Lord of the Rings/Hobbit books/movies.

I’ve not laid down any particular story as I’m hoping during the week with the Literary Festival that people will create their own stories for others and myself to read.

What are you bringing to the Faire this year?

Kilik: This year I’m bringing The Floofie to the Faire… a weird mix between a cotton ball and a chicken, but adorable.

Encait: From my end I’m bringing ‘The First Druid HUD’.
Long story short, it is a HUD that allows you to cast elemental-based magic spells, by drawing runes in the air…  Simple things like fireballs, wood vines,… or comets that make your magical life so much better.

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you, what is your creation process like?

Kilik: I dont really remember how I began to build in SL, I think like most creators it just starts happening. But it’s an enjoyable thing for me, anything I see, dream or read can inspire me, but as for the creation process, well, that’s a long journey of getting an idea, then eventually hating it as I struggle to get it out of my head and into maya, hating it a bit more cause maya constantly crashes… eventually beginning to like it and then suddenly hating it again and wanting to give up… to finally liking it… that’s just the process for meshing, it’s very much the same process for texturing it too. I wish it a glamorous easy process but it’s really not, not for me at least XD

Fantasy Faire 2017 - The Hill

Encait:
THE ORIGIN STORY:
For me it started out by curiosity… I was starting to learn how to program at the university and thought I could use the boost to learn how to script on SL too. Eventually, a friend of mine asks me to make her a small HUD, since I supposedly could do better than what she had bought over the marketplace… Thankfully she wasn’t wrong.
Around the same time, Rynn convinced me to continue working on these HUDs and, eventually, to open a store, one which we would end up naming Solarium.

INSPIRATIONS:
Nearly everything can work out as an inspiration – a video game, a character from a book, a myth, a random collection of images and concepts put together by your brain after waking up.

CREATION PROCESS:
Errm… it depends a lot on the project; however, and not going into full details I’d say that the overall steps are something like:

– Thinking if it is something I would like to have or make (if not, just drop the idea).
– Research about the topic (images, stories, songs, etc…)
– Identification of features (e.g., what type of spells…)
– Creation of assets (object builds, particles, animations)
– Interface design
– Sprinkle with various test phases
– Write the instructions knowing that 90% of the people won’t read them
– Pictures -> Box
– Decide on the price -> reduce it by half
– Release and pray for people to enjoy your work

Fantasy Faire 2017 - The Hill

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year in the Faire?

Kilik: I’m looking forward to listening in on the RP that will be happening on The Hill, I’m sure there’s a lot more I’m looking forward to but I don’t know cause there’s so much that happens.
Favourite Faire memory though, for me is a REALLY easy one, it’s meeting Kayle Matzerath in Wiggenstead Mooring, who is now my RL fiancé.

Encait: 
Memory: a tie between my first jail bait event, and the first Fantasy Faire Quest I made. Looking foward: how the various sims will look like.

Thank you, Kilik and Encaitaron, for taking the time to talk with us, and for having all the pictures taken by our resident paparazzi Alisaundra Andel. Thank you for bringing us life in the Fairelands: as worlds and quests, year after year!

Fantasy Faire 2017 - The Hill

Leave a Reply

