Meet Our Sponsors: Faida, Kei Spot, Poliak’s Emporium & Velvet Whip

Titania Halasy, the creator and owner of Faida.
Keiko Zoon, the creator and owner of Kei Spot.

Titania Halasy of Faida, Keiko Zoon of Kei Spot, Robbyn Poliak of Poliak’s Emporium and Reeva Hax and Madmacit of Velvet Whip are friends who sponsor the Faire together this year. They share their reasons to support the Faire, their growth as creators, their love for fantasy and their favourite Faire memories.

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

Titania: I just love the idea of being more involved in such an amazing event. I could name a few people I lost, but I prefer remembering the ones I am lucky to still have on my side because cancer research is doing giant steps. If we are contributing even to an infinitesimal part of that, I can only be happy.

Keiko: One of the things I truly enjoy about creating is the amazing group of artists I have become close to over the years. The Fantasy Faire gives me the opportunity to collaborate and co-sponsor with some of my most favorite people!

Robbyn: Being part of such a large gathering is so much fun and to be able to do it with my family and friends this year makes it all that more exciting. Cancer has affected too many of my loved ones, both 2 legged and 4 legged, so to help raise awareness and funds in my virtual community is an opportunity i couldn’t miss.

Reeva & Madmacit: This is a great event for a much greater cause. After a couple of year as standard participant, it was time to step up a bit and give more.

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

Titania: It was the far 2008, which in SL it’s like saying it was the 80’s, when I started torturing prims and marveling at how they looked like objects I could use. Ideas and inspiration are easily found all around me, especially since I am surrounded by many creative people, and being able to actually make what I want is a wonderful feeling.

Keiko: I actually came to Second Life for a business meeting and my very first build was a model of one of NASA’s great observatories all in prims. Talk about geek! Three years ago I began learning 3D modeling which is an ever ongoing process. It is my artistic release. I can share the crazy stuff in my head and put it out here in this world for others to use and enjoy.

Robbyn: Wanting to create my own role play wearables and accessories… then furniture and clothing… i found using premade full Perm items wasn’t enough because I still couldn’t make exactly what was in my brain so I began the mind bending process of 3D modeling and fell in love with it. Inspiration comes from my role play environment and often times from real life treasures found while exploring.

Reeva & Madmacit: When it began difficult find things of our liking, related to roleplay & medieval fantasy, we thought to start making them by ourselves. It was so much fun, that after 4 years we’re still here creating stuff 😀 And inspiration comes from everywhere: from a roleplay situation in need of a dedicated prop, to a person searching something particular, to a sudden idea while watching a movie or reading a book.

 What are you bringing to the Faire this year? 

Titania: I am offering two gowns, and I hope they will contribute to the Faire or I will be forced to shred them. (Please buy them, they are 100% donations, save the gowns from a sad destiny)

Faida Artemisia - passione

Faida - Artemisia - nero

Keiko: Our sim is based on a Baroque Venetian masked ball. I play violin (well more fiddle!) and decided to do a violin/flute duet with original music.

Kei's Baroque Violin

Kei's Baroque Flute

Reeva & Madmacit: Something magic and something black 🙂

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

Titania: The very first book I read was a fantasy novel, my father is a collector of fantasy and sci-fi books so I was lucky to be raised in a house full with treasures.

Keiko: I’m a fairy tale kind of girl. These kinds of books became my best friends as a child, and the attachment to this kind of magic has never left me.

Robbyn: Some of the most beautiful art I have seen is from the genre and I have enjoyed it all my life. It opens the portal to limitless imagination and the wildest of storylines… I think it’s the unknown that calls me to fantasy.

Reeva & Madmacit: We love fantasy, because there is no limit to your creativity! But regarding the first time… well, that was waay too much time ago to talk about it 😉

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

Titania: I will never forget the emotion of being accepted as a creator the very first time. I was so overwhelmed by the efforts and the generosity of all the participants! I am already reveling in the same feeling this year, it’s incredible to see so many people selflessly involved! And of course, my hope is to see our past record broken!

Keiko: I cannot wait to see the designs of the sim builders and take a peek inside their imaginations. The sims are always gorgeous and creative and I am sure this year will be the same.

Robbyn: Of course my first year will always hold a special place in my heart, but I already know this year will be the icing on the cake 🙂 I look forward to bonding with current friends and making new ones, and of course, I look forward to all the shopping and art installations.

Reeva & Madmacit: No favorites, as every Faire is special, unique and different. This year we would like it to be even more special, with donations up to the roof!

Thank you, Titania, Keiko, Robbyn, Reeva and Madmacit, for taking the time to talk with us! Thank you for joining us and sharing your creativity with the Faire Folk!

Leave a Reply

