Meet Our Sponsors: Abstract Soul

Methias Kira, the creator and owner of Abstract Soul.

Methias Kira, the creator and owner of Abstract Soul, shares with us his reasons to sponsor the Faire, talks about how he began creating in Second Life, and shows his Faire-wares!

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

I have always had a deep love and appreciation for Fantasy Faire and their dedication towards working with RFL to raise money for cancer research, something which many of us are directly impacted by. I applied to be a sponsor the moment the applications opened because I believe very strongly in this event and its purpose!

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

I hope that my story can be inspirational to those who think they can’t build or create in SL.

I used to be someone who thought they couldn’t do anything, but all it took was some kind nudging from a few close friends to take a stab at building first (I’m an oldbie from 2006 originally) and then meshing much later.

Sometimes all you need is the right person to have confidence in you to find out that you actually can do, and enjoy something you never thought you would!

I started out originally doing prim torture, which eventually lead to the opening of Abstract Soul in 2010. I had a friend who could do tremendous things with the torus prim, and with a little guidance from him I was off to the races.

The desire to wow people with creative, and surreal items is what inspires me to create. I am a big fan of abstract art, psychedelia, and surrealism so the desire to contribute to the things I love is a strong force that drives me.

What are you bringing to the Faire this year? 

I’ve got plenty of awesome stuff in store this year for the Faire! I’ve been working on a lot of wearable accessories lately, trying to bring more wearable magic to the world. Be sure to drop my booth to get a look at those.

I also worked really hard with Gretchen from FETCH this year on putting out a set of bento animated spider arms!

I’ve also got two big packs of magical decor for sale in my RFL vendors, here’s one of my RFL items! ❤

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

I’ve enjoyed fantasy for honestly as long as I can remember. Going back to my childhood, I was always obsessed with the way that fantasy can enrapture your mind and whisk you off into worlds unknown and ripe for exploration. That desire to discover (and create) the magnificent and be a part of a grander world has definitely been a major calling for me.

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

I do have a favourite Faire memory! The story of me and Fantasy Faire is actually one that I hold dear, and close to my heart. I was fortunate to have met the owner of Refined Wild way back in 2012 by chance in a sandbox, and he was such a fan of the work that I was doing that several months later he invited me to share a stall with him at Fantasy Faire 2012, and then again in 2013.

Khyle has always been one of my greatest supporters, encouragers, and to know that he has believed in me from the start continues to warm my heart.

Now, as a sponsor of the event he first invited me to, I feel a great sense of accomplishment that truly, I never expected would come.

Thank you, Methias, for taking the time to talk with us. Thank you for bringing your creativity to the Faire!

The Architect’s Playground, LEA exhibit of Methias Kira.
One thought on “Meet Our Sponsors: Abstract Soul”

Leave a Reply

