Meet Our Sponsors: Little, Big Designs

Cassie Eldemar (Cashew Writer): a creator, a sponsor, a tiny sheriff and a worldling builder.

Cassie Eldemar (Cashew Writer), is many things. She’s the creator and owner of Little, Big Designs. She’s one of the sponsors for Fantasy Faire Radio this year. She’s also one of the tiny sheriffs zooming rampantly around in the Fairelands, upholding the Long Paw of Law. This year she’s also one of the Worldling creators, sharing with us a vision of a Faireland that could be. 

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

This is the fourth year that our RFL team, the Aether Chrononauts Tiny Steps has worked with Fantasy Faire. Our team’s captain, OldeSoul, declares a two week break from other fundraising events so we can all help out. So, when an opportunity came up for a sponsorship, it just seemed like a good way to help out.

How did you begin building in Second Life?

I joined Second Life in 2007, not many years before I retired from teaching. I had read some articles in Reuters that talked about creators building content. Laughs, I really wasn’t sure about it, but I decided to try it. I’d never even played a computer game before joining, so I was really amazed and a little intimidated by everything I saw. But, I soon learned about the Ivory Tower of Prims and made some very good friends. Over the next few years, we helped each other puzzle out how to build with prims!

Time seemed to fly by, and before I knew it my RL/SL husband OldeSoul and I were both retired and he joined me in Second Life. It wasn’t long until an old friend of mine, Wildstar Beaumont, recruited us to head up the RFL team he’d started. Suddenly I found myself building almost every spare moment! It was one event after another and campsites, and vendors….laughs.

What inspires you to create?

I’ve always loved making things…from helping my grandmother make quilts to my great aunt teaching me to paint with oils and water colours. But other than a couple of art classes in college, it was always just a hobby. My eyesight has gotten so bad over the years, but in SL, you can cam in and see everything in such detail! So my builds started taking on more detail, and developing more character. Slowly, my builds became more complex and once I learned how to “listen” to them, they seem to whisper what needs to be done. Now, when i begin a new build, i’m curious to see what will happen in the end 🙂

You do much more in the Fairelands than just supporting them through sponsorship. Tell us about that, in which ways are you involved with the Faire?

I started helping as one of the Tinie Sheriffs which is a really fun job. You get to walk all over the Faire or ride on your segway seeing all of the sights and meeting the people. I think it really adds to the adventure of the Faire to have the sheriffs around, and it’s nice to be able to help some of the people find things too. We also help out with the Jail and Bail…laughs, but I guess we end up being the “bad guys” during that event! But, its all in good fun too 🙂 This year I hope to find some time to help out with some of the work that needs to be done before the Faire begins, like helping with the merchants getting set up.

Alfheim

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

I’ll tell you a little about the Worldling for this year’s Faire. It’s called Alfheim which means more or less, the home realm of the elves and faeries. The inspiration for it came during the autumn equinox dance at the Stone Circle in what is now known as Rosehaven. I found myself wondering, “What if the inspriation for Stonehenge came from some humans who had somehow gotten a glimpse of the fae’s home realm”? So, I started working on the build that would become our new home in Rosehaven, which we moved into on Christmas day. The doors on the upper floor are the compass points and have the tallest peaked roofs. There are three roof sizes because, even though the difference is small, they would look so boring if they were all the same height. It was a fun challenge pulling the angles together to create the effect and it seemed to build itself. The double spiral stairs leading up to the living area…but that’s another story! Laughs, honestly, I couldn’t begin to tell you how it happens 🙂

Alfheim

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

That’s not an easy question because the Faire is so full of magic. One thing that stands out was the fairy walk that was held last year, it was such a fun way of seeing all of the sims. But really, there are too many beautiful memories of the the regions over the years to single out just one. The amazing talent of the creators seems to grow year after year, so I’m looking forward to exploring them all and as many shops as i can 🙂

Thank you, Cassie, for taking the time to talk with us! Thank you for the many years shared with us, and the increasing loving involvement with the Fairelands!

Leave a Reply

