Meet Our Sponsors: Vengeful Threads

Vixn Dagger, the creator and owner of Vengeful Threads.

Vixn Dagger, the creator and owner of Vengeful Threads, shares with us her reasons to sponsor Fantasy Faire, tells us how she began creating in Second Life, offers some sneak peeks at her Faire-wares and reveals what fantasy means to her.

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

Fantasy Faire represents a cause I feel very much personally connected to & Hold dear to my heart.

I lost my Grandfather in 2005 to a Cancerous Brain Tumor. He was a World War II Veteran, larger than life, and the strong core of my family.

My Best friend of over 20yrs has Multiple Myeloma. We’ve raised our kids together, he’s more like family than my own family and I watch him struggle daily, suffering from it over 13yrs. He’s in the last stage of Multiple Myeloma now. We help each other out, both of us being Divorced single parents of children with disabilities.

And Lastly….the the most home hitting….
I almost lost my daughter in 2009 to having a Brain Tumor With Hydrocephalus. She turned 6 on the operating table getting her second operation. I spent 2wks in the Pediatric ICU not knowing if my daughter would survive. I was surrounded by other children and parents experiencing similar struggles in the ICU. I was fortunate enough to have my daughter survive & that her tumor was Operable & not cancerous. Other parents weren’t so fortunate as I and were not able to bring their children home.

I was able to be by my daughter’s side at the hospital for whole time due to donations from Strangers, Friends, & Charities. I think I realize more than anyone how important it is to support a cause. Because I was one of those people who got support. This is my way of giving back and bringing awareness of how important a kind heart and random active of kindness actually is.

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

To be honest, what started me building in Second Life was desperation and need for personal sanity. I was (and often still am LOL) a struggling Mother of children with disabilities. I have Four children. Two of my children are Autistic. I couldn’t work a “regular” job due to having to be at home for my children, I was in a failing & abusive marriage, and I was selling my Artwork & Handmade Jewelry on online in an effort to generate income for my household. A friend introduced me into Second Life. It was awe inspiring and at first was just a get away of sorts from the chaos of my life. Then I discovered it was also another form of artistic medium that could also generate an income. So I threw myself into learning how to build and design.

As for what inspires me to create…I guess that would be the need for self expression & freedom…to help create “Pieces” of the world we call Second Life that helps others to express themselves and get away from the every day burdens of life. There is something awe inspiring about helping to create “pieces” of things that make up how a person expresses their inner most being in Virtual Reality. It never ceases to amaze me.

What are you bringing to the Faire this year? Give us some sneak peeks or teasers!

A lot is still in the works but Currently working on some masks. I tend to go with what ever idea pops in my head as I create. But Here are some little teasers of what’s to come.

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

Oh wow…umm..this is going to make my life sound a little like it’s a bit of a travesty LOL. I know the exact moment when I got drawn to fantasy.

I grew up an only child & a military brat. My father was frequently overseas & My Mother was Severely Mentally ill. She was extremely violent and abusive. There was a time frame where she did try to get help and we saw a military counselor. When the counselor became aware I was was getting abused by my mother, she informed her she would have to notify someone about it. My mother became very hostile and got up and left, hollering for me to follow her. The counselor stopped me for a moment and grabbed this unicorn thimble that was in a flower pot near her desk. She grabbed my hand and placed it in my palm, telling me that the unicorn represented hope. She told me to never give up hope. I was about 8-9yrs old. That was the start of it. I collected everything unicorn, drew them, and read about them. That of course lead into all other sorts of realm of fantasy and Mythos. Fantasy was a good escape from life. You could write and be what ever you wanted. It was one of those rocks I held onto during a very hard childhood.

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

My Favorite Fantasy Faire Memory was in 2014 when a group of us sat and watched the Fairelands slowly disappear. It was a sadly beautiful Moment for some reason that really stuck out in my mind. I’m pretty sure that’s the most social I’ve ever been as well with people in SL. I don’t​ socialize much.

The Final Seconds of the Faire
The Final Seconds of the Faire

Thank you for taking the time to chat with us, Vixn, thank you for spreading hope through the Fairelands!

Leave a Reply

