Last Delta

Fantasy Faire is the People

I thought I had nothing more to say. I thought I had said all that I had in me in my ramblings of these last years. I kept thinking I should write a wrap-up piece, something to express my feelings by the end of the Faire, but every time I thought of it only scattered thoughts ran through me, fluttering about like confused butterflies, refusing to settle into a path of words.

Today Haveit Neox emailed me a link to the video you see above. He filmed it during the traditional May Day Masked Ball of the Faire, our last official event. He also filmed the last unofficial event of the Faire, the return of the centaurs and the party following that. As I watched it I felt that strange, but oh so Faire-familiar feeling of smiling through threatening tears. I wiped my tears, smiled, and thought that this film shows so perfectly what Alia Baroque said in his interview: Fantasy Faire is the people.

There are bold centaurs, beautiful unicorns, twerking dragons, prancing dinkies in lobster-suits, frolicking fauns, graceful fae, glittering petites, towering giants, angels and demons to balance each other out… there are goats and ponies and a giant fox, there are even humans, of all things!

There are roleplayers, creators, dancers, bloggers, photographers, DJs, authors, speakers, coders, sound technicians, actors, artists, world builders, organizers, sponsors, musicians, particle performers… there are visitors from all the communities across Second Life.

In the Fairelands the Tiny Police can riverdance on the toes of a giant towering over the tallest of buildings, artists can be transformed to centaurs, Relayers can visit lands built for the hope risen from imagination, DJs can spin on a deck of a ship carried by a dragon, dancers can hold a stage of a whole world created to celebrate them, roleplayers can weave their stories with a new flow of visitors to partake in their lives, storytellers can share their words in an environment grown out of inspiration, photographers can despair at the beauty eleven days is never enough to capture… in the Fairelands anything is possible. In the Fairelands we come together: many communities, many tribes, all joined for those brief magical days.

We are all Faire Folk. For eleven days this is our land, our shared continent where all can come together, meet and talk and dance and experience the magic. Fantasy Faire is the people.

Thank you.

Last Delta

4 thoughts on “Fantasy Faire is the People”

  1. Oh it was wonderful looking at this video… *sighs deeply*… what a wonderful time dancing at this last event! Thank you everyone who made the 2016 Fantasy Faire happen!!! ♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

