Story of Hope: Rhyver’s Tale

Rhyver Starspear in Tangleshimmer Grove 1

After Pookie Wolfsong came forth with her story about bringing patients to the Faire from her work as a caregiver in a cancer treatment center, we have received a multitude of comments on the story. It has touched many, including all the organizers of the Faire. Today we get to hear the rest of the story, the other side of the coin, from one of these visitors, Rhyver Starspear. This is her tale.

I came to the Faire after my caregiver got me into SL. I was recovering from surgery and chemo. I saw her one day online in this beautiful place. I asked her what it was, she told me about SL and spent her lunch time getting me set up. She took me to Fantasy Faire 2015. I was amazed by how wonderful it was. I’d heard of Relay For Life. I never knew about this Faire… self in the Fairelands.

My caregiver then told me to mod my avi to what I wanted to be, what I would like to become. I came to the Faire as a little wolf girl. Scared and nervous. I became a kitsune wolf rider and explored everywhere, I escaped my daily living of treatments and rehab. I looked forward to my wanderings in the lands. I grew stronger, I had something I thought I lost: Hope.

All these people coming here. I was not alone, there were others in the world who really care. I feel that helped me with this battle with cancer.

These lands are magical and the people who bring the Fairelands forth are angels. The work that goes to bring this is incredible. Thank you all for making this happen.

Thank you for sharing your story with us, Rhyver. We are happy beyond words that the Fairelands are able to provide help and inspire hope, and we wish you continue to find enjoyment in their return.

Rhyver in Wildehaven Marsh 2

Rhyver in Wildehaven Marsh 1

One thought on “Story of Hope: Rhyver’s Tale”

Leave a Reply

