Meet Our Sponsors: Epic Toy Factory

ME - mayah tinkers hollow

Mayah Parx, the world builder of Tinkers Hollow and the creator and owner of Epic Toy Factory, shares with us the story of Tinkers Hollow, her reasons for sponsoring the Faire and her new whimsical releases.

You are both sponsoring the Faire and building one of the Fairelands: Tinkers Hollow. What made you decide to join, sponsor and contribute?

Simply put I love it, always have and will continue to …the Faire culture is something magical and I could not imagine My SL without. why?? it gives me the opportunity to give back.

FF16 Tinkers Hollow - I
Picture by Caitlin Tobias

How was Tinkers Hollow born? What inspired it, what is its story?

Author Arthur Gridely was just a child when he wrote Barnabas Bagstock into life; you see Arthur had a gift, a fantastical, magical, wondrous, stupendous gift! Arthur … could bring his imagination to life! Really… really …really… to life!

Now as to how this works I am at a loss to explain, however what I can tell you is that when you have an imagination like Arthur’s, that is to say an imagination that is boundless, never tires and happens to have a fantastical, magical, wondrous, stupendous ability to simply write anything, anything at all into life…you end up with a lot of clutter, and I do mean A LOT!!!

Let me skip ahead to when Arthur and Barnabas were all grown up… on this day Arthur’s imagination was working overtime …he had developed a fascination with clocks, cogs, and gears…all manner of gadget! He was obsessed. Bits and Bobs lay scattered all about the place, Barnabas found himself wading knees deep in all manner of nick knack. ARTHUR!..he shouted “You must stop! ARTHUR! We will be up to our whiskers if this goes on… ARTHUR! ARE YOU LISTENING TO ME! ARTHUR!!!

Tinker's Hollow-Mayah Parx- Justen Tyme -016
Picture by Justen Tyme

The last Arthur was loud enough and sharp enough to snap him out of his imagination, “oh my..” Arthur looked about “This is quite a mess! with a look of curios thought he almost mumbled to himself ,” Whatever will we do with it all? hmm.”

Just at that moment as if they were of one mind, Arthur and Barnabas both bore the look of a man who had just come up with the right answer to what came first, the chicken or the egg? They both spoke at once, Arthur laughed…smiling he gestured at his friend to continue, Barnabas cleared his throat “What if instead of just writing about stuff, you write about a place where all the stuff can be…” “BRILLIANT Barnabas! Simply Brilliant I say!” Arthur’s face took on a quizzical expression “What should we name such a place?” Barnabas started pacing, a determined look settling on his face, they paced back and forth oblivious to the knee deep clutter each stride they took had to push through… they paced and stopped, looking about to speak, then went on pacing without a word being uttered, all of a sudden their voices rang out in unison .. TINKERS HOLLOW ! they shouted together, And it shall be grand indeed…” ⓒ

Tinkers Hollow3
Picture by Alisaundra Andel

What are you bringing to the Faire this year?

Oh the whole sim really, not much has not been built for 2016… though there is a least 1 piece from every sim I have built for Faire… it is a tradition for me…

Candy Tree
Candy Tree
Color Flowers
Color Flowers
Steamer Lanterns
Steamer Lanterns

What is the best thing about building in Second Life? Which things inspire you, make you happy and satisfied when creating?

oh gosh you don’t have room, if I had to sum it up…. imagination imagination imagination… inspire; people’s smiles and the “you changed my day” notecards I at times receive make me happy and satisfy.

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encounter the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

Fantasy has always been a part of my life, part of who I am, part of who I have always been even before I can remember it being so as I am often told by the older member of the family.

FF2016 - set A - Tinkers Hollow_021
Picture by Wildstar Beaumont

Do you listen to music while building? What kind? If so, does Tinkers Hollow have a theme song?

No not often, it would disturb others in my home as I love to be a part of the going’s on of our household even when creating in SL …and if i were to put headphones in I would isolate myself from that world, the very world that provides the inspiration for my creations …my real world, my family and the comings and goings of my home.

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most in this year’s Faire?

No one specific thing is a fav memor, more like oodles of them.

What am I looking forward to …catching up with the worldmakers and merchants… I am a serious recluse the rest of the year…

Thank you for taking the time to chat with us, Mayah! Thank you for bringing whimsy to the Fairelands!

FF2016 - set A - Tinkers Hollow_023
Picture by Wildstar Beaumont
Leave a Reply

