The Challenge of Blogging

Tuar
Tamzin Xigalia of Tamzin’s Treats explores Blackmoor.

I was recently approached by one of the Faire’s official bloggers with the question of how many posts and items they were expected to blog. I might have confused her with my response, simply because I laughed. Then I explained to her that I don’t care about numbers. As long as the blogger puts her heart into her post, is inspired by the Fairelands and blogs the Faire as the wondrous event it is instead of, say, two items added in a look in a studio, I’m happy with even one post!

20160421_01
Freyja Nemeth of OtherWorldly explores the Golden Delta

To me quality versus quantity is a simple no-brainer: I always prefer quality and quality takes time, it takes effort. It takes inspiration. This is why I do not check your flickr favourite numbers, I do not ask about the amount of your blog feeds or how many social medias you add your posts to. This is why I care only about if I can see your heart in your pictures, if I can see your enthusiasm for the Fairelands in your posts, if I can sense the excitement and fun you are having at the Faire in what you publish.

prayers
Ryanna Foxclaw of Trappings of a SecondLife shares with her readers why she Relays.

I am against blogger obligations fiercely: we do this for fun, as a creative hobby, and the best blogging comes from love and enjoyment, never out of exhausted obligated picture snapping. The only obligation I expect you to hold onto if you have applied and been accepted to the Faire bloggers is that you indeed do blog the Faire. How, when and how often is up to you and your muses.

MerLaxing
Light in Darkness (Sugarfairy88) mer-laxing.

Instead of numbers I wish that all of you go to the Faire: wander, explore, take part in events, quest, admire particle shows, dance with dragons, be chased by Tiny Pawlice, roleplay with the groups within Fairelands, party on FaireChylde, write stories of the Fairelands in Literary Festival, shop till you drop and then when your cheeks hurt from laughing and your spirit is so full of happiness you are about to burst, then I wish you capture that feeling in pictures and words and blog. Trust me, you will be proud of what you do, more than ever before.

Bright Haven: Blossoms
Deoridhe Quandry of Prim Dolls has blogged Fairelands for years, including wonderfully detailed (and spoilery, you are warned!) guides to our hunts and quests.

You are an important part of the Faire Folk. Let it show. Let others read and see and glimpse the enchantment so they come over to experience the same. We have many blogger challenges, but that is the truest blogger challenge of the Faire.

Thank you.

The Fairy Dance continues
Eloen Maerdrym of Eloen’s Other World performs a fairy dance!
4 thoughts on “The Challenge of Blogging”

  1. Sonya,
    You’ve put to words what I’ve been frustrated about for months now. Thank you so much! The Faire is amazing this year!

  2. Reblogged this on Magick Thoughts of Second Life and commented:
    So true!!!! I believe in quality vs quantity when it comes to blogging and making art and portraying an event or designers creations. The last thing I want to do is put a “LOOK” together in my studio wearing as much as possible and making a silly style card. To me thats not blogging thats hey I got all this stuff and here is where I got it. THE END.
    To that I say….. “boooorrrrinnnngggggggggggg…….” (echo echo echo echo) The Fantasy Faire is an amazing place to get things you can get nowhere else and to go to a great cause! I say go get your hud and look around and take your best shots as well as art with what you buy!!! Its all about what makes us feel good and enjoying our own SL right? —-hugs AmandaMagick

Leave a Reply

