Meet Our World Builders: Kaelis Ember

kaelis ember - Alisaundra Andel
Kaelis Ember, the world builder of Serenity. Picture by Alisaundra Andel.

Kaelis Ember, the world builder of Serenity, shares with us her experiences as a new world builder, her build-inspirations, the story of Serenity and her favourite Faire-memories.

This is your first year of building a Faireland. How did you become a world-builder, and how has it been like?

It’s been an interesting process! I’ve been getting involved in the Faire as much as I can for a couple of years now – sponsoring in 2014, and designing the real-life jewellery last year, getting to know people, and showing them what I can do – Last year I pitched a Sim idea to Elizabeth and a few of the other sim builders, to see what they thought. It was actually a huge surprise when I got a message asking me to build a sim this year. It’s been amazing! Super busy, late nights and lots of work, but it’s been the best experience ever. Everyone’s AMAZING to work with – and the camaraderie is awesome. All the Fairelanders are amazing, so while it has been intense working on this? I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Love you guys!

Serenity
Picture by Alisaundra Andel

How was Serenity born? What inspired it, what is its story?

Serenity’s special to me, a combination of ideas I had when I owned a sim in 2013, just after visiting my first Fantasy Faire, and being inspired by the amazing sims there; an elven architectural style I’ve been sketching for a few years inspired in part by the Ayleid architecture of Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion; and a short story written by a close friend as we hashed out plans to hopefully build a sim the next year.

Serenity is a place of hope, of remembrance – Dedicated to those still fighting that greatest of enemies, Cancer, and to those we have lost and remember with love along the way. We keep fighting, together, until we have a cure.

Serenity2
Picture by Alisaundra Andel

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

Building in Second Life for me has always been a continuation of my love for 3d art and virtual spaces in general – A way to express myself and give a little part of myself to the visitors of the space – and you never know what little part of the greater whole that a visitor will derive greater meaning from – and that’s part of the beauty of it for me – a Visitor to a space can find meaning and importance in parts of your build that don’t always mean something to you – weaving and making the space more for it, it evolves and becomes a living, breathing thing of its own.

I’m often most inspired by fantasy art that I find and gather across the internet, games I play, books I’ve read, and my own journeys in this mad world we call “Life”, be it Second or First Life.

Serenity3
Picture by Alisaundra Andel

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

What calls me to fantasy changes as I live my life, but it always does keep on calling – For me, here and now? It’s about expression, a way to show all the complicated facets of our nature – villains, heroes – there’s a little of all of them in each of us. The stories explore that – they express that – and the worlds… you can lose yourself to them, and in them – for me.. these days in SL you can find me as a kindhearted demon or fallen angel – A Duality, made of both light and dark, but not quite either. It’s that freedom of expression that I love about the fantasy genre – you can be whatever sings to your soul – you can express your nature in whatever way you desire – complex or simple – often sometimes potentially contradictory forms.

As for when I first encountered it? I must’ve been a young girl of about 8 or 9, or even earlier, and I’ve never looked back. The genre is such an important part of who I am.

Serenity5
Picture by Alisaundra Andel

Do you listen to music while building? What kind? If so, does Serenity have a theme song?

I didn’t listen to as much as I usually do! But I rocked out to a lovely playlist I made of female fronted rock and metal, with the odd industrial track in there too. But when I got tired – I’d stop what I was doing and listen to “Mystery Skulls – Ghost”, and be refreshed and keep on building. As for a theme song? I don’t think it does, but that’s a fun thought to keep in mind for next year!

Serenity7
Picture by Alisaundra Andel

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

A favourite Faire memory… that’s a hard one, each year has had such amazing memories – the jail and bail of Panarroway and myself at Sanctum in 2014, meeting one of my best friends at Odyssey in 2015, Sitting by the campfire with friends at Ichi-go Ichi-e also in 2015, Watching the Fairegoers enter the sims with the other Worldmakers this year is also such an amazing memory. The Faire is filled with wonderful memories – and wonderful people.

And speaking of wonderful people, the thing I’m looking forward to most this year? Is meeting wonderful people wandering the sims – the Faire is truly the best time of year – so many people to talk to, to meet, to get to know, all with different stories and everyone is so wonderful and delightfully different! If I may make one suggestion to any Fairegoer this year? Talk to your fellow Fairegoers, say Hi!, have a chat as you wander the wonderful Fairelands, because you can meet some really incredible people here.

Keep on rockin’ and enjoy the Fairelands!

Thank you for taking the time to chat with us, Kae! Thank you for joining us and giving us a whole new Faireland to live in!

Serenity6
Picture by Alisaundra Andel
Leave a Reply

