Meet Our Sponsors: Roawenwood

Searlait Nitschke - 2016 - 512x512
Searlait Nitschke, the creator and owner of Roawenwood

Searlait Nitschke, the creator and owner of Roawenwood, returns to sponsor the Faire for the fourth time. She talks of her Faire-memories, her favourite fantasy realms, and the strange socializing in the Fairelands! You can also read her previous interviews here: 2015 & 2014.

This is your fourth year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you return and do it again?

I know I’ve gone on and on over the years about the Faire and what it means to me each time finding something new to talk about. I suppose this year isn’t going to be much different since I’m babbling yet again. Each year it means a little something different to me…. this year I had to take a break from creating a sim for everyone because of RL and found that in the process of doing so that I was just so so sad. I have so many awesome memories of the Faire. There’s times that the stories and the people involved lift me up pushing me forward and giving me so much that when I think of the Faire I can’t help but want to give something back. To really make some kind of difference or at least feel like I am and I think that is part of it.

I want to be able to share and give back a little bit of something, I really love to be a part of it because the people involved are like family from the creators to the people who visit, it just feels different than any other event or thing that I am a part of in Second Life. Cancer is so hard, I’ve been touched by it with different relatives and people in my life suffering from it. I’ve had a scare or two on a personal level as well, in these moments I just want to be able to help. To do something, to feel like I am doing something when so many times we feel powerless.

It’s a small thing… sponsoring. Really it is, but it means a lot to me to be able to do it.

The Faire to me is magic, and I believe in magic….

Are there any common, continuing themes in your work, items that belong together, or is each creation a separate entity?

My work can go all over the place but generally I have a few solid themes that continue or work together. Rustic, medieval, fantasy based things are of course a favorite. Then there’s other styles, steampunk/Victorian, some exotic themes or world areas. I like a lot of different styles. I’m rather helter skelter in that regard. One week you might see something rather rough and looking like you’ll get a splinter if you sit on that particular chair and then the next week a big silk draped bench then next week I’m making donuts.

You never know. I just go wherever I feel like and what feels right at the time and create it. I enjoy the creative process, the expression, the seeing if I can make it thing. All of it. I could use some help on the boring parts though… you know… Marketplace listings, remembering events and dates, that sort of thing. LOL

What are you bringing to the Faire this year? Give us some sneak peeks or teasers!

no peeking (Edit: you can go and take all the peeks you want in Roawenwood’s store in Fairelands Junction!)

What are your favourite fantasy realms?

Let’s see…. I like fantasy, magic… if it’s done well and I can get into the whole world of it then I’m all over it. I suppose it would be fairly standard to mention things like The Hobbit stuff and J.R.R. Tolkien, perhaps a few nods over towards the Harry Potter way and then loving much on the Game of Thrones thing…. when I was young I loved the Dragonriders of Pern. I have a lot of love for a lot of different kinds of things, I love to role play, I love to feel like I am in the middle of a story or a life… it’s rare to find but once in awhile you do. I could probably go on and find a lot of examples but it’s early yet and I’m only on my first cup of coffee as of this writing.

What are you looking forward to most this year in the Faire?

I’m not sure. Living the Faire I think. It’s so easy to get caught up and wrapped up in so many things that can make a day feel long, or hard to deal with. The Faire is this wonderfully magical place that comes just once a year where a few creators try to bring it forth so we can get together, share, laugh, dance or whatever else comes along for a very good cause.

It’s some of the only times during the entire year that I do something that is wayyy out there for some of us in SL even though it really isn’t supposed to be.

I…… socialize.

*a gasp and cough is inserted here for dramatic purposes*

I leave my work, I leave my workshop, I go out… I am around………… people.

*laughs* it’s a great time of year and I need it. I need it to help recharge for the rest of the year, I look forward to the shopping, the events, the people, the whole thing and I get to help people too… I just look forward to the Faire. Period.

Thank you for taking the time to chat with us, Searlait. Thank you for joining us and socializing!

Leave a Reply

