Meet Our Sponsors: KittyCatS!

KITTYCATS-CALLIE-CLINE-&-KITTYCATS-RESIDENT
Callie Cline and Kittycats Resident, the owners of KittyCatS!

Callie Cline, co-owner and designer/artist of KittyCatS! shares with us her reasons to become a Faire-sponsor, tells us what inspires her to create and gives us teasers on upcoming Faire-releases of hers!

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

We have always loved the Fantasy Faire and supporting RFL. It just happened to work out this year for KittyCatS! to be a sponsor. The timing worked great! We are thrilled and honored that we could sponsor a sim.

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

I’m not sure I’d call myself a builder. I really struggle with traditional building. That being said, I started “creating” about 10 years ago in SL. It began with an invitation from a person building a library who asked me to go out and shoot some photos for him. After that, I was asked to decorate a Castle and that was really fun. Then a few months later, a close friend encouraged me to make clothing. I was pretty reluctant and dragged my feet because the clothing template scared me because it looked like a math graph. After a few months, I realized it wasn’t math at all, and I started to have a lot of fun designing clothing.

It’s hard for me to find words to describe what inspires me. There’s something that moves me and when I try to name what it is, I find I come up at a loss. I’ve been thinking about this all day, and I can’t answer it. Some things that seems to facilitate inspiration for me are, nature, people, animals, music, conversations, ideas, love, and being alive.

What are you bringing to the Faire this year? Give us some sneak peeks or teasers!

We are making a special cat themed item that anyone can enjoy that requires no maintenance as far as a pet goes. You will have to wait to see what it is! During the Faire we’ll be releasing our Spring Collection cats and those will fit in nicely. We will sell those at the Faire in addition to them in our store. Though not an RFL item, our collections are really loved and we hope it will bring a lot of people to the Faire that may not have been before. We also plan to donate something special to the auction. Again you’ll have to wait!!!

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

I think when I was a child that un-namable thing is what called me. Imagination perhaps? I remember thinking and imagining all sorts of things. For me keeping a sense of innocence and wonder opens up that fantastic realm of imagination. In truth, reality is so amazing, if we were to really ponder the reality of life, even to sit still and look at a flower, insect, and truly take it in, the “real” world… in a way reality is, “fantasy coming alive.” Every second, right before our eyes things happen that we could NEVER imagine, and I find we tend to dismiss it. Also what we don’t see, (things that are too small) that are happening all the time are mind blowing. Almost like a fantasy as it’s so hard to believe.

So in a way, fantasy calls me to reality, and visa versa. I think it’s the desire to connect that calls me to both.

After thinking about this question more, I think part of what calls me to fantasy is paradoxically pain and love. Wanting to disengage from reality and then connect with it. Another thing that calls me to it is the love of thought and imagination, which then brings me back to reality! I think it’s all created and interwoven. The desire to connect and disconnect.

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

Gosh, I think one of my favorites was when we had a store a few years back and seeing the cats as princesses and princes then seeing Avatars coming dressed up as princesses and princes and little children and them holding the cats and we all laughed and talked. It was really special. That we could connect via this Faire and the fantasy of SL, and have REAL connections that were not “fantasy” hit me. Which is what I was talking about in the other question about fantasy and reality being intertwined.

Thank you for this opportunity on behalf of myself and KittyCats Resident.

Thank you for taking the time to chat with us, Callie! Thank you for bringing feline magic into the Fairelands!

One thought on “Meet Our Sponsors: KittyCatS!”

Leave a Reply

