Meet Our Sponsors: Building Daydreams

Aine building daydreams
Aine building daydreams

AineMari Flanagan, the creator and owner of Building Daydreams shares with us her reasons to become a Faire-sponsor, her many forms of inspiration and the multitude of her favourite Faire-memories.

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

It was a natural progression for me, I spent the first Faire helping a friend set up shop and promoting her items, and had a small vendor for my stuff in her shop. Every year since I have built my way up to this, first with a themed shop and now this, who knows next year I may get to sponsor a whole sim!

Relay For Life has been something I supported for years, I lost my Dad to Esophagus, Stomach, Liver and Pancreatic Cancer in 1998, he was just 59.

His sisters died of breast cancer in 2002 and 2005.

My Father in Law passed away in 2012 of the same type of cancer my father had.

We lost my husband’s aunts to breast cancer in 2015, so I do this in part to honor and remember them, and others I have lost. Statistically speaking , with my family history and that of my husband’s we are at risk for cancer ourselves. So this is important to me and my family.

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

My first build was a book! Just a box, single prim multi textured- I still have it! I needed it for a roleplay and couldn’t find exactly what I wanted anywhere and necessity forced me to make something.
I was hooked after that.

Making something out of an idea is a powerful and addictive thing.

Many things inspire me, I have a background in fine arts and have made a living as an artisan off and on for a number of years. My mother taught art, so I like to think creativity is something Inherited from her.

For me it could be a dream, a conversation with other people, roleplay, or simply because it came to me while doing something else entirely. Inspiration has to be fed and nurtured and creating things leads to more inspiration, be it writing, singing, roleplay, getting out in the world , people watching, or going out to a park and playing for a little while.

All my lives are all about creativity and inspiration.

What are you bringing to the Faire this year? Give us some sneak peeks or teasers!

You know, I am not entirely sure whats going to end up at the Faire? Many times I don’t even finalize anything till just before the Faire starts, this year seems to be all about gardens and plants and houses.

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

I grew up with an active imagination in Europe in an Irish family who was very much into history and myth. My mom was a free-range child parent, so I was allowed imaginary friends, encouraged to read, and learn about the world around me and got to go off into the woods alone with my books, paints and colored pencils. AND I grew up with a real castle and Roman ruins near my home and would spend hours there exploring.

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

It’s the coming together of the Faire – the unplanned happenings that always make it special to me. I have years worth of stand out memories, from sailing the sims waters the second year after the Faire closed to tubing parties and random dance parties, watching the tinies run with scissors or quietly sitting and chatting with new people, the Faire energizes me and makes the year totally worth it for another year.

Thank you for taking the time to chat with us, AineMari! Thank you for joining us in bringing the Fairelands back!

Leave a Reply

