Meet Our Sponsors: Spyralle

WindRider Monsoon
Kerryth Tarantal, the creator of Spyralle, with her WindRider Monsoon set.

Kerryth Tarantal, the creator of Spyralle, returns to sponsor the Faire and shares with us her reasons to relay and speaks of the evolution of her work and the directions she is taking it. 

This is your third year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to return and do it again?

There was never any doubt in my mind that I would do it again, if I possibly could. About a year ago just before Fantasy Faire, I lost my father. He had many health issues, but it was cancer that ultimately took his life and caused him much suffering. I know that this fight against cancer is also a fight to reduce that kind of suffering, and it is very much my fight. I am a three-time cancer survivor, I’ve had a couple of bad scares in the last year (so far, so good, thank heaven!), and every year is a gift I try to give back in some small way. Equally important is the Faire itself – from the breathtaking art of it to the incredible community that has grown within it. It is a lot of hard work, but it is also gloriously fun and delightful, and I simply love being a part of it. The day Fantasy Faire radio kicked on, I felt such a rush of rejoicing. It felt like both a celebration and a homecoming.

Is there anything tying your work together concept-wise? Do all your creatures live in the same world, do they have additional stories with them, do you imagine something larger binding them together or are they all separate creations?

Month to month, most of my work is individual creations, usually driven by event themes. But one of the things I love about Fantasy Faire is that I can pursue private visions, as long as they’re fantasy, which is a universe without bounds. There are a couple of what I would call “emerging visual trends” in my work, especially for the Faire, that I can see most clearly looking back, Both Thornweaver, my 2013 project, and Waverider, my 2014 project, were stages of this journey. Several months ago I realized these trends dovetail perfectly with unfinished fragments of fantasy writing I did long ago – not so much a back story as a general cultural context – a world that is feral and savage and also aetherial and beautiful. I’m also seeing the influence of certain visual inspirations I’ve had tucked away in my memory for years that I am finally figuring out how to reconcile with the fractal art that is the backbone of Spyralle. This year’s project is very much on that trajectory and much more intentional than in the past, now that I have a clearer idea of where I’m going.

WindRider Coromell

What are you bringing to the Faire this year? Give us some sneak peeks or teasers!

Last year I began two projects, Waverider and Windrider, but only Waverider was ready by Faire time. Windrider waited quietly, brewing in my brain, until I could come back to it. In the year between, Windrider has moved in the direction of the emerging themes I mentioned – wilder, more strident. This year I am a much better at creating mesh, so I can reach farther and do more justice to what I picture in my mind. Windrider is not an outfit but separate unisex pieces that I hope people will combine with elements from other sources to build their own costumes. It is so exciting to see the looks people put together! I’m also releasing the last group of a series of fantasy gowns representing the months of the year.

Do you have favourites in your vast collection of work you have done here? Any specific creations that you are extremely fond and proud of? Or do you love them all equally?

My favorite is whatever I’ve been working on most recently.

What are you looking forward to most this year in the Faire?

I’m simply looking forward to being there. Once I’m set up and ready, I always have a wonderful time simply hanging out, exploring, shopping, looking at all the wonderful art. It’s like a vacation in an enchanted country.

Thank you, Kerryth, for taking the time to talk with us. Thank you for bringing your visionary creations to the Faire!

Windrider Calima

One thought on “Meet Our Sponsors: Spyralle”

Leave a Reply

