Meet Our Sponsors: Death Row Designs

profilecrop
Jaimy Hancroft, the creator of Death Row Designs, co-creator of Dwarfins and the builder of the Spires of Andolys.

Jaimy Hancroft, the creator of Death Row Designs, one of the creators behind Dwarfins and the builder of the Spires of Andolys, shares with us the story of the Spires, introduces her building team and talks about the magic of building and her favourite Faire-memories.

This is your second year both sponsoring and building a Faireland. What made you return and do it all over again?

Last year with some real life traveling I did, I did not have a lot of time to enjoy the Fantasy Faire like I wanted to, so this year I wanted to have kind of a do-over for myself ๐Ÿ™‚ย And of course it’s just really awesome to be back and be part of the Fantasy Faire, and they do the best job for RFL …but also I love me some fantasy ๐Ÿ˜€

picture8

How was Spires of Andolys born? What inspired it, what is its story?

Well it was born last year; when I built Hopes Horizon it was a very personal kind of story for me and more emotional kind of sad, I said to myself next year I really want to build a sim that just radiates magic and fantasy and puts a big smile on everybody’s face including mine, I already decided at that time I wanted to come back and do it all over again.

The Inspiration is very recognizable if you are from Europe, it is Paris Disney, my favorite destination of all time ๐Ÿ˜€ and it’s been a dream of mine to build something like this, me and my sister are big huge Disney freaks, love all the stories and we just love the feel you have when you walk through that park and you feel like you have entered into a totally different world where you feel like a child all over again.

We really wanted to create a small world for people to go into, forget about all the trouble and sickness just for a small moment and make you feel like you just want to smile and be happy ๐Ÿ™‚

When you walk through this sim you are literally going to feel like your dreams can come true and that you can totally train mice and birds to do your dishes.

Spires of Andolys - Picture by Jaimy Hancroft

You built Spires of Andolys together with Eowyn Swords. How did the collaboration begin and work out, which of you did what in the building process?

Eowyn Swords is my real life sister and my best friend, she lives a few houses away from me so it wasn’t hard to decide to team up with her, we have been calling each other through this process daily, screaming like little girls every time we made something new lol… she has been building big builds for DRD and furniture, I still build some of it myself but she is as we like to call it ‘The idiot savant’ of our team lol, she builds stuff like a maniac yet she has issues putting down a prim …. (ikr?)ย I do all the Uvmapping (yay) and texturing, I also built Cinderella’s carriage and Pinocchio ๐Ÿ˜€

Tito DeVinna, another part of the team, does all the interactive stuff like The Lost Boys treehouse you can hang around in, and Cinderella’s carriage you can sit in, a magic flying carpet that takes you on a ride around the castle in the sky ๐Ÿ™‚

There is tons to explore at the Spires of Andolys, so make sure you do not miss out on anything ^^ย We have filmed the process of my sister building and me painting, which we will edit and upload as soon as we get the chance to.

The Flying Carpet in Spires of Andolys - Picture by Jaimy Hancroft

What are you bringing to the Faire this year?

For the store since we had to compromise and we had -zero- time left whatsoever to make items, we decided to sell some of the pieces from the sim, so at DRD you will be able to get your own Rapunzel’s Tower or Sword in the Stone or whatever else we can think of to set out for sale ^^ย but all the items including the castle in one bundle will be put up for the auction ๐Ÿ™‚

What is the best thing about building in Second Life? Which things inspire you, make you happy and satisfied when creating?

The best thing about building in Second Life is making something you thought up in your head or planned out and see it come to life. For me personally the best part is uploading it and dropping the textures on, you can just see the build you worked on come to life right in front of your eyes, it’s just the best experience.

Which things inspire me is everything literally everything, from the outside world, to movies, tv shows, themeparks , documentaries, walking outside just everything, you can’t imagine the times I’m somewhere on a trip and go ‘ ohhh we should make something like this in Second Life’

It also makes me happy to be building with an awesome team nowadays and we just have a total blast doing it, there’s not too much stress, just a lot of brainstorming, laughs and all around happiness, I know it sounds totally corny for people reading but it really just makes me happy.

The Sword in the Stone at Spires of Andolys - Picture by Jaimy Hancroft

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most in this year’s Faire?

My favourite memory has to be Fantasy Faire 2013, I had a lot of time to enjoy the Faire myself and run around like a crazy drunk dwarf half the time, and join all the parties and jailbails it was so much fun, I love everything they organise. I also enjoyed last year’s hunt a lot, it’s the only thing I had time for to do and it was awesome. I’m really looking forward to that again this year .

I’m also looking forward to this BALL omg… why didn’t they do this sooner, and perfect timing cause I’ve been dressed like a princess all this time building xD , I can take my Prince Charming to the ball and hopefully not lose a slipper ๐Ÿ˜€

Thank you, Jaimy, for taking the time to talk with us. Thank you for joining us in bringing the Fairelands back once more!

picture26

One thought on “Meet Our Sponsors: Death Row Designs”

Leave a Reply

