Meet Our Sponsors: Junbug

junomantel
Juno Mantel, the creator and owner of Junbug.

Juno Mantel, the creator and owner of Junbug, shares with us her reasons to sponsor the Faire, how she began creating in SL, her passion for costume and historical fantasy and her favourite Faire memory.

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

Yes this is my first time at the Faire I believe altogether! I chose to be a sponsor of the event as I had such amazing success at raising $1200 on my own for Do it in a Dress (sending girls to school in Sierra Leone) last year that I’d like to try joining in with a group event this time. Being a sponsor will hopefully help raise more funds for RFL than I might otherwise have achieved.

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

I came to SL with the hope of creating historical fashions as I have always had a love for costume (some might say obsession bordering on freak levels :D.) But I basically gave up any hope as soon as I did come on. It seemed far too complicated and difficult. I didn’t think I had the skill or ability to learn. After a year or so a friend taught me how to make a flexi prim plant (soooo basic and awful to my eyes now of course!) but that got me started and within a month I’d opened my store back in 2008 with only a few initial designs. It all just carried on from there.

What are you bringing to the Faire this year? Give us some sneak peeks or teasers!

Now that would be giving it away! But if I said imagine a grown up little red riding hood you might not be wrong.

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

I’ve always been into history and costume – fantasy is just an extension in my eyes of that. But without the limitations/realism you have in historical periods. You basically get all the pleasure of whatever era you wish and then the fun of blending or changing it to something else more fantastical. I love that about fantasy. Who doesn’t like a little fantasy in their life? ;D

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

I can’t wait to see the sim designs! I did visit in a previous year with a friend and ran around the sims with a wizard hat on, no doubt annoying innocent shoppers with my stupidity shouting David Bowie lyrics. So I do apologise for my behavior in the past and hope I might have your forgiveness cause we can be heroessss just for one dayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

Thank you, Juno, for taking the time to talk with us. Thank you for joining us in the Fairelands!

Leave a Reply

