Meet Our Sponsors: Lorin’s Sound Effects Shack

Lorin Tone
Lorin Tone.

Lorin Tone, the owner and creator of Lorin’s Sound Effects Shack, shares with us how he found Second Life and decided to stay and also issues a surprising threat!

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

My SL Partner, Judi Newall forced me into it by contributing and entering my name. Which I appreciate. We’ve both contributed to past Fantasy Faire Festivals and others, and we’ll likely get sucked into this one. Which is always fun.

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

As a sound guy working for game developers, I always wondered how those guys made all the visuals. At a conference, I helped a presenter to demonstrate SL in around 2006. I figured it was worth a try. So I signed in, shopped for furniture and got sexually propositioned by 5 foot tall 400 pound naked troll. Of course, that cracked me up enough to stick around and learn more.

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

Bradbury, Clarke, Asimov, Ellison, Gaiman, Pratchett, Tom Waits and other people of questionable repute.

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

As with any SL Festival, the most enjoyable part for me is running into people I’ve met before, also meeting new people with similar interests. All in the interest of shopping around for fun stuff and supporting a worthy cause in the process! Do it, or I’ll kick this poor innocent bunny.

Thank you, Lorin, for taking the time to talk with us. Thank you for making certain all the shoppers will enjoy their time supporting RFL for surely no one will allow an innocent bunny to be kicked!

One thought on “Meet Our Sponsors: Lorin’s Sound Effects Shack”

Leave a Reply

