Meet Our Sponsors: Plastik

Vae Aikea Rieko
Vae, Aikea Rieko – the Creator of Plastik.

Aikea Rieko, the creator of Plastik, shares with us her love for fantasy, her plans to contribute and participate in the Faire even more and reveals the Faire’s new low lag avatars!

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

I’ve always wanted to do it! I’ve always been wanting to get as involved as I possibly could, but this year I got the time and I got the funds to be able to do it the way I’ve always tried to do. I love raising money for RFL and I try to top my amount every year. I think that every year from now on, I’ll be a sponsor as well. Helping out and contributing is so rewarding.

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

I started in 2003/2004, and at the start, it was just a really amazing way to spend time, meet people, and try new building styles.

I was modding for games, doing user mods, I was big into making custom things for Elder Scrolls games and using builders in other games to further customize. It’s always been a passion of mine to create something unique! As for inspiration, I’ve been a Lovecraft and Giger fan all of my life, my entire family loves it and I think it was born into me. I love taking the dark and twisted and adding my own flair.

What are you bringing to the Faire this year? Give us some sneak peeks or teasers!

I’m doing the Low Lag avatars for the Faire this year, a Vampire skin and a Demon skin in Male and Female versions, which will be really amazing.

I’m also doing a very large, top secret charity item that I hope will raise a good chunk of money for the foundation!

This year I’ll be doing a small line of fantasy skins, some Elven jewelry, some Fantasy Horns, and tons more. I gear up for this event all year! there are at least 8 new releases coming out for FF this year.

Low Lag Avatar-Arahven

Low Lag Avatar-Mortulus

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

I’ve been a fantasy buff since I was a small child. Stories about dragons and knights were the only ones to ever really fully hold my attention, as well as dark lore and Gods and Goddess stories. Elves have been my favorite fantasy subject for as long as I could remember, reading the Tolkien books as a kid, and immersing myself in the world of art, elves and dragons, and all things mystical was the focus of my creative outlets. I can’t think of a time when I’ve not been an elf in SL!

I used to do only traditional art like painting and sculpting, and then when computers started to get more and more advanced, I added graphic design to my list. It’s really rewarding and really amazing to be able to do what Iove for a living.

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

All of my Faire memories are amazing, but I think that so far, getting everything done is always a great accomplishment. Last time I participated, I got everything done in three days with no breaks, no sleep! And the end result was really awesome, I really pushed myself to the limit. I was invited late so I didn’t have much time, but I was proud of myself for getting everything done.

I enjoy walking around the sims and talking to people, listening to their stories, and seeing the amazing turnout that the Faire always produces, as well. I’m really looking forward to helping the organizers out more this year and being more involved, doing Jail and Bail and all of the amazing events.

Thank you to the many fans and customers who keep my dream alive and kicking, and inspiring me every day to be better, to evolve, and to become more proficient at meeting my goals and helping in any way I can. Thanks to the wonderful Organizers and all of the amazing designers that make this truly awesome event happen every year. ❤

Thank you, Vae, for taking the time to talk with us. Thank you for your continuous presence in the Fairelands and your hand in providing fitting forms for the newcomer visitors!

2 thoughts on “Meet Our Sponsors: Plastik”

Leave a Reply

