Setting Sails

Greetings, readers! I’m going to be one of your companions who will, hopefully, entertain you with news, reports and pictures during the 2013 edition of the wonderful Fantasy Faire…
Fantasy Faire 2013 - Magnificat
… and shall I tell you how anxious I am right now? I’m sitting here, all alone, in front of my PC at home, yet I speak to the entire world. Oh my. What a liability.

This is why I’ve been crunching my brain ever since I received the invitation to join the crew. What should I say in my opening address? What awfully wise and profound thoughts should I share with you? Some awesome people had enough faith and allowed me to frolic here, and now… well, what to do with this wonderful freedom? Then, practically in the last moment, the Universe answered my question.
Fantasy Faire 2013 - Fields of Gold
I love my RL workplace, university, for many reasons. One of them is that my co-workers are an inspiring group of people. We love keeping our brain cells fresh and agile, so we regularly invite guests to our weekly staff meetings. The privileged individual then talks about any imaginable and unimaginable issue; the topics vary from the current developments in micro-surgery to the legislation concerning human rights. This week our speaker was a popular stand-up comedian… and no, he wasn’t invited because he was funny.

He talked about his illness, now luckily overcome, frankly and with amazing human profoundness. One of the most important things he had learned, he said, was to wake up “differently” every morning. Before his illness his days had started like, “Arrgh, another damn long day, where’s my coffee?” Now he opens his eyes with the thought, “Let’s see what great adventure is waiting for me today!”
Fantasy Faire 2013 - Dream Boats
… so, dear readers, let’s see what adventures are ahead of us, shall we? Lie back and enjoy the ride, because it will be a magical trip if you’ve ever seen one. Are your lifebelts ready at hand…? Yes? Because the Faire is about to start!

6 thoughts on “Setting Sails”

  1. I am not sure what made me read this today. Normally, I never read any of the things, just look to see if any of the sims catch my eye, get the url and off I go, hoping most allow my child avi! But your words were so inspiring for me and well written. The fellow you spoke of I admire as we should all wake each morning with those thoughts in our minds, just so many times it doesn’t seem possible. Well that is what SL is all about making the impossible possible pretty much for a lot of us. I cannot wait to attend as many of the sims fairs as I can. I lost my best friend and hero to cancer, my sister and almost lost my partner last year as well, but she has beaten it once again so this is a cause I fight for often. I am taking your words to heart and the words of that wonderful comedian from this day forth, what wonderful adventure awaits me each and everyday, I can hardly wait to find out now! Thank you.

    1. Michael… sometimes, when I’m tired, I „console” myself with the idea that I’m a „tuff lass” after all, I’ve seen so much and nothing really can shatter me any more. Then something always happens that, luckily, proves otherwise… like reading your thoughts here, at this time of the year. Thank you so much that you’ve shared such personal feelings with me, and us all. The „tuff lass”, who’s been deeply moved by your words, sends you a virtual embrace and wishes you a safe trip in all lives. 🙂

    1. Greetings, Silverr! I wanted to ship people off for our fantasy Dreamland, which is also very real, with a dreamy-but-true story, and now I’m happy you’re telling me it looks like I’ve succeeded. 🙂 I’m also delighted that you like the pics… actually, all I did was hanging around and clicking, as the sims spoil the photogs with amazing views and details. Enjoy this week, you’ve worked so much for the Faire that now you deserve some fun! 😀

  2. Hey! How about some SLURLs on this blog we can direct people to so they know how to get there? 😉 And maybe some prominently posted dates so we know when it opens? 🙂

    1. Hello Harper! I’m very happy that you and your readers are eager to roll with us! 🙂 I must ask you to remain patient for a few more hours, though. The Faire will officially start at 6 AM SLT today, April 20th, 2013. The LMs aren’t public until then, but everything (including the LMs, the event calendar and much, much more) will be duly revealed here, on the official blog, when the virtual gates are open. Please visit us again in a few hours, and you won’t be disappointed. Thank you for your patience! 🙂

Leave a Reply

