Duchess and Irina Reporting from Fairelands, Day 1

ImageFairelands calling, Fairelands calling! My name is Irina and I work for the prestigious Fairytale Gazette newspaper. Usually I work alone but ever since a small incident involving a misplaced camera and Mrs Mayor’s undergarments, my boss has banned me from even thinking about the camera, and thus I’m journeying to the Fairelands with Duchess, a famous photographer, who’s won various prizes, even.

“Remember ladies, especially you Irina, Fairytale Gazette is a Very Serious Newspaper, and I’d like you to conduct yourselves in a prim and proper manner and make a very serious reportage. And the newspaper will NOT pay for your shopping!!” Our boss gave us one final advice before we hopped to the Fairelands portal.

ImageOur first destination is Asperatus, a great flying city high up in the air.
“Holy Mother of Soup, Duchess! We’re on the sky and the city’s gonna fall and we’re gonna die! All of us are gonna dieeeeeeeeee!!!!” I shriek in panic once I notice I’m actually above the clouds.

Duchess cringes, especially when the other people gather around us to give us funny, even angry looks. “There’s only one person who’s life is in danger here and it’s not because the city comes crashing down, but because someone will strangle you if you don’t stop screaming! Look there!” She points at the giant balloons which maintain the city in the air. “Those will keep the city floating within the clouds. Now, remember what the boss said about manners, and we’ll go explore.”

I’m not too convinced, but when a bearded individual who’s watching us makes me a gesture as if he’d like to cut my throat, I decide it might be wise to stop screaming at least. As soon as I overcome the creepy feeling that there’s hundreds of meters of distance between me and the ground, this place is actually quite interesting. There’s all sorts of curious cogs, propels and gears, which all seem to serve some purpose, and of course there’s shops, and there’s nothing both me and Duchess like more than shopping. Our exploration is interrupted, though, while I’m trying on a fancy armour, when a lad runs past shouting “The sheriffs have jailed an effin’ building at the Palace of Tears!!!”

ImageWe rush into the Palace of Tears and there indeed seems to be some commotion, but not what we had expected. There’s a giant attacking the place, and I don’t mean a tall person but an actual giant!!

“We have to get a live of this, get your microphone!” Duchess shouts at me, while she’s vigorously searching through her belongings for her precious video camera.

Thankfully my microphone is near. “One, two, three, testing…. Irina from Palace of Tears calling with breaking news! As you can see behind me, there’s a giant attacking the palace and these half-horsemen – “

“Centaurs…” Duchess murmurs at me in a stagewhisper. “They’re called centaurs.”

“Erm..” I cough twice. “As I was saying these centaurs are rushing in there to repel the attack! We shall be following the situation closely, although from a safe distance.”

Duchess facepalms and grumbles something about a pansy reporter. “Safe distance in my butt, come on, we got to get closer!”

I can’t help but follow her as she starts rushing towards the heat of the battle. Once we draw nearer, we find out she’s actually not attacking but dancing. That’s rather embarrassing for us, so we decide to just say to the camera that the battle is now over and the good prevails. We do discover, though, that the sheriffs have indeed jailed a building, but fortunately, the good people who were gathered at the Palace of Tears are helping to pay the bail and the great hunt, which shall soon take place at the Palace of Tears, will be on.

Photography by Duchess Flux
Text by Irina Strazytski
Special thanks to Ceri Quixote of Quixote’s Dream for kindly letting us feature her as the Colossi giant in our reportage.

DUCHESS:

GOWN: Annette {Purple} by Luminary ~ Available at Fantasy Faire at Hope’s Horizon
BELT: Boadicea’s Belt {Multi-Textures} by The Forge ~ Available at Fantasy Faire at Asperatus
EARS: Fairy Ears w/ Wrapped Cords by Illusions ~ Available at Fantasy Faire at Sanctum
ADDITIONAL ITEMS worn by Duchess from outside the faire can be found listed at Threads & Tuneage

IRINA:

GOWN: Rosa by the Luminary ~ Available at Fantasy Faire at Hope’s Horizon
BOOTS: by Sax Shepherd Designs ~ Available at Fantasy Faire at Hope’s Horizon
NECKLACE: by House of Rain ~ Available at Fantasy Faire at Mourningvale Thicket
BOOK: Book: Leather Bound Spellbook by Talevin’s Designs ~ Available at Fantasy Faire at Hope’s Horizon
ADDITIONAL ITEMS worn by Irina from outside the faire can be found listed at Dark Chest of Wonders

 

6 thoughts on “Duchess and Irina Reporting from Fairelands, Day 1”

Leave a Reply

