Meet Our Sponsors: Death Row Designs

jaimy@FF

Jaimy Hancroft, the creator of Death Row Designs and one of the creators of Dwarfins is also the sim builder of Hope’s Horizon. She shares with us her love for fantasy and the Faire, her development as a builder and the story behind Hope’s Horizon.

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Fair. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

I am a creator for Dwarfins and last year’s experience with Dwarfins had a major impact on me. I absolutely loved it, I loved it so much I applied to be a sim builder as well, so there was no real thinking about it for me.

Hopes Horizon 1 by Jaimy Hancroft

How did you begin building in Second Life? What inspires you to create?

I began just making shirts for myself, people liked them and wanted to buy them off me, so that’s how it all started. I started with a tiny stall and worked my way up slowly for the past seven years. What inspires me, everything. DRD has no solid theme, I just make whatever I feel like making. If I feel like making zombies, I do it, the next day I might feel like making fairy wings and I go for it… it’s just fun coming up with cool designs and bringing it to life.

What are you bringing to the Faire this year? 

Well, LOTS of people have asked for armor, so I will be doing elvish armor this year for DRD :)

deathrowdesignselfarmor

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

I have always loved fantasy, my first fantasy movie I saw was the Dark Crystal and all the creatures, creations are so amazing, my love for fantasy just grew from there. I am a big Lord of the Rings fan and hoping we will have plenty more fantasy for us to watch in the future. I just love fantasy because you can create even the impossible for this theme and in fantasy, nothing is impossible.

Do you have a favorite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

Last year was actually my first very active year at Fantasy Faire and I think I was there all day almost everyday. The people you meet, the fun, the events, the organization is just impeccable and the people and organizers are amazing to work with, the backstage group is so fun and everything that just surrounds this whole event is amazing, I was blown away from day one… I have no favorite memory, the entire Faire and everything that comes with it is something to look forward to.

Hopes Horizon 2 by Jaimy Hancroft

How was Hope’s Horizon born? What inspired it, what is its story?

Hope’s Horizon was born in Tolkien’s mind, because the sim is inspired by the great city of Minas Tirith: of course with Second Life’s limitations and sim sizes, I would have needed all ten sims to accomplish that, but I did my own smaller rendition of it. I am dedicating this build to my dad, who passed away a couple years ago of cancer. He was a major Lord of the Rings fan and this was my chance to do something great to make him proud. The building stands high above everything and it is as if you are flying when you reach the top, you can see the surrounding Faire sims when you are standing there. I have put a blossoming tree at the top to represent life, and everything good in life. The tree is blossoming there in all its glory on top of this city in remembrance of our loved ones letting you all know that the spirit never dies…

Thank you, Jaimy, for taking the time to chat with us, and most importantly: thank you for being a part of the Fairelands!

Hopes Horizon 3 by Jaimy Hancroft

Leave a Reply

