Meet Our Sponsors: {Fae’d} Club

faedclub1
Kaelis Ember and Pan Arroway, the owners of {Fae’d} Club.

{Fae’d} Club is one of our generous event sponsors that make the Faire possible.  Kaelis Ember, the owner of the club, shares with us her reasons for running a club, her reasons to relay and her early-found love for fantasy.

This is your first year sponsoring Fantasy Faire. What made you decide to become a sponsor?

I have a few reasons – most importantly is it is for a very good cause – and one close to my heart. A lot of people in my life have been affected by cancer – My Aunts, my Father, my Grandmother – and at one time, a lover, and my current partner was also affected by cancer. So Relay For Life is an important cause for me, personally, and not just me, but my business partner, too.

faedclub4

What made you decide to start a club in Second Life? What inspires you to keep it going?

As for why I decided to start a club? Well, I’m a community builder at heart – and I find great joy in building social spaces. I love tunes, and I love a good party. But what really inspires me is making my club a safe space for all to come, have a good time, and rock out.

What makes {Fae’d} Club special? Tell us about its philosophy and activities.

What makes {Fae’d} special? A big part of who we are is making a safe space where anyone is welcome – It doesn’t matter if you’re a furry, fair folk, neko, or a human (or anything else!) – you’re welcome with us. We’re also an LGBT Safe Space, and this is *very* important to us. Plus, hey, the build is pretty ;) Come get lost in the forest with us!

faedclub3

What calls you to fantasy? When was the first time you encountered the genre and realized you enjoyed it?

I… must’ve been a young girl of all of about… 9? or younger. Probably younger. I’ve had my head in fantasy novels and sourcebooks since I was a little girl. I honestly can’t really remember a time I’ve not adored fantasy settings – but I am pretty picky about what I read. I just love the concept of swords and sorcery, orcs and elves, virtuous angels, and wicked demons. (and everything inbetween!) And fantasy settings are a focus for my creative side too – I occasionally get out blender and model a thing or two when I get the chance. Usually fantasy-inspired architecture.

Do you have a favourite Faire memory? What are you looking forward to most this year?

Discovering the Faire last year, with my friends. We all came to the Fairlands when it opened last year – and were gobsmacked at how amazing it was. We spent the entire Faire wandering around and checking out the sims, AND the people! We’d found a home amongst the Faire for that time, and it was amazing. I think a close second to that was meeting Khyle Sion at Dragonspire last year – and chatting with him about building in SL as a fellow 3d artist. Was very cool – and Khyle and I are good friends to this day because of those first few discussions.

Thank you for taking the time to chat with us, Kaelis, we are honoured to have you with us.

faedclub2

Leave a Reply

